Comfort Us, O Lord

 

Day 14 of the Covid Chronicle.   16 Days to go.

Pope Francis’ gave aspecial mass and blessing at St. Peter’s Square in the Vatican on 27 March 2020, or 28 March 2020 at 1:00 am.   At mass, he gave a special homily about keeping the faith amidst the storm of this pandemic.   He gave an extraordinary “Urbi et Orbi” (to the city and the world) blessing.    The Pope gave an extraordinary plenary indulgence to Catholics around the world suffering from the virus particularly for the health care workers and those who die from coronavirus in isolation.  

I was deeply moved by the service.   It was hard to consider that the Lord spoke to me as this live-streamed all around the world in many languages.  Pope Francis spoke in Italian.  A choir sang in the background.  It rained as Pope Francis carried the Blessed Sacrament.

I found especially moving the Litany of Supplication before the Blessed Sacrament.   We respond “Save us, O Lord”, “Comfort us, O Lord”, “Grant Us Your Spirit, O Lord” and the words expressed the desperation I felt in my soul.

Today, I found out that my relative had tested positive for Covid 19.   She reminded to stick to the quarantine and count it from the day we met at the hospital.   She told me she was to be intubated in a while.

“Save her, O Lord” “Comfort her, O Lord”, “Grant her your spirit, O Lord”

 

 

Leave a comment