Comfort When Sick

Throughout the world, there are rituals and practices for when one is sick.   They include seeing a physician, taking medicines, bed rest or quarantine, a massage with efficascent oil, cold compress.    Since I am sick today, I can’t help but ponder about these rituals. 

 So today I am writing about comfort food or the healing food we are traditionally served when we are sick.   There is magic in this food and some scientific basis as well.   The photo is what I am having prior to the medicine that must be taken on a full stomach.    

IMG_4070-1
 
It is rice porridge with pork dumplings today because we ran out out of chicken.   I had the rice porridge with chicken yesterday.   Porridge with chicken, ginger and some garlic is called “arroz caldo” in my country.    A simple recipe for arroz caldo can be found at Food magazine.

A common recipe should look like this: 

   
This photo is from Maimai and Abetong

Served overtime To a sick child whenever he or she is sick, it’s medicinal properties increase with positive reinforcement and a little placebo effect.   

In the West, most people serve chicken noodle soup when you are sick.    Even Dr. Oz says it’s good for you—-    Easy to digest, keeps you hydrated and boosts your immunity according to  Dr Oz blog.  He has also given his own recommendation for a healing soup at his website.   Dr Oz website

The photo below is from Wholesome Mommy:  

 Recipes for the cold and flu cure can also be found there.  

In The Far East, Chinese families serve congee , with chicken of course.  As this website suggests, each grandmother has her own variation.    Asian Grandmother s Cook Book.  And one can have many condiments as well.    The photo below is from Kitchen Runway to give you an idea of how simple it can be. 

  
Today I am trying to wage my battle with the flu with this centuries’ old prescription.   Be it chicken noodle soup, arroz caldo or rice congee, I trust I will be better Tomoro.   In the back of my mind, I can hear my mother saying to finish the whole bowl so I can heal faster before Christmas Day.   

**I am following  a suggestion of my friend of 25 years Cherry, She said I must write about food.   She likes my food photos the best and she said my blog is missing my love of food.    

***In writing this article I saw many good websites on the topic and if you want to know more, please visit the sites.  I have provided the links so you have access to photos and recipes.   

One Comment Add yours

  1. I’ve been sick as a dog with bronchitis for four days now so for lunch I had noodle soup made with chicken broth. I’m hoping it pushes me down the road to recovery. Hope you are feeling better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

